$15 off orders of $75+ with code HAPPYWEEKEND

Meet Melissa!


Meet Melissa!

A few months ago we expanded our impact to now working with women locally, as well as globally.  Currently, our local women create our jewelry line, known as the Miriam Collection.  We love these gals so much, and want to introduce them to you over the next few weeks.

We've introduced you to Terri and to Lindsey.  Next up: meet Melissa. Melissa brings her southern charm to our office every day, and we are so grateful for the positivity and hard work she brings to our team.


Q. How long have you been in Nashville? Where are you from originally?

A. I'm from West Tennessee, and I've been in Nashville since July 2013.

Q.  If you wouldn't mind, tell us a little bit about yourself. Your family, background, etc.

A. I’m a mother of 3, and a grandmother of 3. Back in 2007 I was diagnosed with fibromyalgia, and I self-medicated myself with alcohol. In July 2013 I got a DUI, and that was what made me leave my entire family to come to Nashville and check myself into recovery.

Q. How did you hear about FASHIONABLE?

A. I met Gracie (who founded our Jewelry program, Miriam) right when I got into recovery - she volunteered there once a month making jewelry with the women. After I completed the program, in September 2014, she offered me a job -- which became the reason I stayed in Nashville. She had enough work for me 3 days, and then she got me 2 days a week working with FASHIONABLE.  So when the 2 companies came together this past summer, my 2 families came together!

Q. What’s your favorite thing about making jewelry?

A. I get to build a piece that a woman is going to wear that makes her feel beautiful.

Q. What do you love to do in your free time?

A. I love going on really long walks, and I spend a lot of time with the Lord. And then going back to visit my family once a month.

Q. What’s your favorite jewelry piece? 

A. The spear rosary necklace. (she's wearing it in her photo!)

Q. What are you ABLE to do because of your job at FASHIONABLE?

A. I am ABLE to provide for myself and not depend on anybody else to take care of me... I can stand on my own 2 feet! 

Melissa - Fashionable